Never mind Christmas, make bread

Mum says she is keeping her head down and it’ll all be over soon. I’m not entirely are what she means as I don’t go out much these days at my advanced age. Not when there’s important jobs to do like caring for Aga Dragons. I think it might be something to do with all the glittery stuff hanging in the office and the piles of paper she has been buried in, writing to all our customers. Its kept her mind off her flu and thats a GOOD THING, as she was hanging around my Aga looking miserable before that.Thats so not good for me as she forgot to give me all my 4 fresh meals a day plus raw mince and butter. She wasn’t even cooking, just shivering. Silly human. Any cat would have stayed in her bed curled up. I had to rely on the Man. He gave me selections of mashed cat food and melted cheese instead so I guess that was tolerable.

Now she is perkier she is back to baking again. Its a good barometer of her health (she says, I have no idea what a barrow-meter is). She has been completely obsessed recently by round green vegetables she calls avocados and has created a bread to go with them. She thought you might like to try it for yourself. I will scribe it for you, you will have to do the baking. My delicate paws can’t handle stirring and pouring.

Mum says this will be a healthy food to counteract all the seasonal excess. I wonder if she means the wind that makes my Aga dragon roar flames? I nearly had my whiskers scorched off this morning when she opened the coal port. And they say there’s a storm to come called Barbara. Dragon will like her. Mum however is ‘battening down the hatches’, whatever that means. Funny things humans. Enjoy your bread.

DSCN3423.JPGHerb and courgette oat soda bread

Ingredients:

8oz oat flakes (use gluten free if you need to)

4oz oatmeal (for gluten free it may be easiest to use all flakes)

1 heaped teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

salt to taste

2 teaspoons dried mint

1 teaspoon dried thyme

500ml plain yoghurt

rind 1/2 organic lemon

juice 1 lemon

1/2 courgette, grated finely

6 tomato-stuffed black olives, sliced

1 tablespoon oil from olives

Method:

Pre-heat oven to medium hot 375C gas5.

Prepare baking tins or silicone moulds for the bread to cook in.

Weigh out dry ingredients.

In a large bowl mix yoghurt, rind and juice, courgette and olives.DSCN3424.JPG

Add dry ingredients and stir. The bicarb and yoghurt/lemon will start the raising process, so quickly spoon into moulds.

Bake in oven till browned. Approx. 35 mins for cupcake size moulds, up to an hour for a single tin loaf.

Turn out and spread with mashed/sliced avocado. Mum says thats delicious. I’ll stick to chopped minute steak thanks Mum.

Leave a Reply

